That Lunar Event: A view from Spain.

I mentioned in my last post that I had been away in Spain, however I did not divulge any further information. The primary reason for this was simply that it seemed unnecessary however it does serve another purpose. I get to tell you about a little city on the border of Spain and Portugal called Badajoz, a true hidden gem. It was here that I managed to get a superb view of the Super Moon that everyone was talking about during mid November.

In the unwritten post that I plan to succeed this one, I will talk more of Badajoz and share with you some of the photographs that I took there. This post, however, is set aside for one thing.

THAT HUGE MOON THAT EVERYONE TALKED ABOUT FOR A WEEK BECAUSE IT WAS SUPPOSEDLY GOING TO BE A THOUSAND TIMES LARGER AND PRETTIER AND INCREDIBLE TO LOOK AT BUT THAT WAS ACTUALLY SHROUDED BY CLOUD TO EVERYONE ELSE THAT I KNOW ON THE PLANET BUT ME!

And breathe.

In several of my past posts I have talked about topics that interest me, even going as far as providing little history lessons however, as much as space interests me, I’m not going start producing facts that I’ve read or researched. All I will write are the words that came from my mouth as I watched from Puente de Palmas, the oldest bridge in Badajoz.

‘Wow’.

That moon as it rose over the horizon really was incredible. I stood on the bridge, surrounded by fellow spectators as it rose, considerably quickly into the sky. Unfortunately, the higher it climbed, the less impressive it appeared until eventually you could hardly tell the difference between what was super and what was ordinary.

I have to admit that this photo is a composite image, meaning that it is two images combined into one. This i because I was unable to capture a clear shot that didn’t leave either the city underexposed or the moon overexposed. Needless to say, it does allow you to see what I saw as our moon rose high into the night sky, leaving old Badajoz behind. The moon was a deep orange as it climbed high above, and for a few moments, it really was super; rising over this ancient city on a rare, cloudless night.

 

Until next time,

J

 

Leave a Reply

