Ignition

In the process of preparing my post about my exciting adventures in Spain, I became a little side tracked. Whilst looking through photos I discovered something that I had attempted on our final night there. Something which I would never have considered in an entirely sober state, but which seemed obvious and exciting as I saw my friends lighter sat in our room.

The following images were caught with my Pentax 18-135mm without a tripod or a timer; it was all done handheld! To capture these images I had to use incredibly fast shutter speeds, with some of them going as high as 1/1000th of a second. As I’m sure you can imagine, there are a lot of duds however those that worked, look seriously good!

lighter-1

This second image captures the moment that the fuel from the lighter catches the spark created by the flint and combusts. I always love seeing slow motion shots, they allow us to see a glimpse of the perfectly ordinary being extraordinary.

lighter-2

This last image shows the same thing but a few micro-seconds later. You can still see the fuel as it catches alight, with that single rouge spark flying off into nothingness.

I really hope that you’ve enjoyed this quick post. I entirely intended to post today however the subject matter is totally different to what I originally intended. It is, however, quite a lot more epic. I hope that you’ve enjoyed it.

Until next time,

J

Leave a Reply

